Netherland – Joseph O’Neill

I tried something a little different, a little outside my wheelhouse, with my next endeavor.  Normally when I go into a book store, I go with a list of books that I’m looking for, most of which are books by an author I like or which have been recommended to me.  Occasionally though, one will catch my eye for reasons I can’t even explain. Netherland was one of those.  It’s pretty safe to guess that it probably had something to do with the title: I’ve got an unfulfilled fascination with Europe.  A peek at the dust jacket revealed an author who was born in Ireland, raised in the the Netherlands and who now lives in New York City.  So, what the heck, I gave it a shot.

If you trust the New York Times, it’s a heck of a book.  I’m just not the kind of reader to which it appeals.  Then again, I still believe Mark Twain when he says that “PERSONS attempting to find a motive in this narrative will be prosecuted; persons attempting to find a moral in it will be banished; persons attempting to find a plot in it will be shot.”  (I had serious disagreements with my English teacher in high school over this since I primarily want to read a book to enjoy the book, not discover the deeper meanings in it).

Leave a Reply

