Sandstorm – James Rollins

While I took some time off from blogging as I made the move from North Texas to New Mexico, that doesn’t mean I neglected my reading.  

The first book I read after leaving y’all was Sandstorm by James Rollins.  This is the first in his Sigma series (he actually calls it a prequel but, as far as I can tell, it’s just the first in the series).  I’ve had books 2-5 in the series for a while, but I had difficulty finding this one, either at Half Price Books or the local library.  When I finally came across it at HPB, I snatched it up even though it cost me more than the $3 I usually spend on a book.  It was worth both the money and the wait.  I thoroughly enjoyed this and, as you’ll soon find out, I didn’t wait long to read the second in the series.

Without going into much detail, I’ll just tell you it involves a team of warrior scientists who are housed in the US Department of Defense’s DARPA (Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency).  There is antimatter, international museums, a rich heiress, ancient mysteries, and surprising betrayals.  Seriously, how does it get any better than that?

Leave a Reply

