The Face – Dean Koontz

I gotta tell ya from the beginning here, I run hot and cold on Dean Koontz.  He can create characters and construct a story like few other authors alive.  Lightning is one of my favorite books of all time.  I’m not sure it’s great literature but I remember reading it in high school and something about it stuck with me.  I’ve re-read it a couple of times and I still find it highly enjoyable.  And, his Odd Thomas series is terrific, especially the first one.  On the other hand, there are some of his books I just find to be disturbing.

With the possible exception of a couple of scenes, I liked The Face.  And, I shouldn’t even complain about those.  I know what Koontz is doing.  He makes his evil characters really evil to the point of being pretty disturbing.  But by doing so, he is able to draw a really powerful contrast with the good and hope-filled characters he creates.  While I’m not sure the evil is always offset by the good in his books, it worked in this case.  I really appreciated the way I felt at the end.

Leave a Reply

