Darkness Falls – Kyle Mills

I had to take a break from the 900-plus page biography of Winston Churchill.  While Churchill is a fascinating subject, I have found that this story of his life is a bit of a challenge to get through.  Just makes what David McCullough is able to do with John Adams and Truman that much more impressive.

So, I’ve decided to break the reading of Churchill up into sections.  Fortunately, that’s the way the book is organized:  into sections that are between 100 and 150 pages long.  This lets me read a section over the course of 2-3 days and then I turn to something less heavy.

With my first break, I picked up Kyle Mills’ Darkness Falls.  I’m never sure where the story is going to go but I also never fear that it’s going to let me down.  This one didn’t.  And, I gotta tell ya, this is one of those novels that really makes you think.  Without going into too much detail, Mills explores a scenario in which worldwide oil production is reduced by about 40%, virtually overnight.  Let’s just say that it’s a pretty frightening thought.

For those who want to know more about it, check out this review at Civilian Reader.  Or just read it yourself.

Leave a comment